Gileston is a small hamlet in the Vale of Glamorgan with about 60 residents, St Giles church which is the centre of the village and open to visit.
Gileston Church is dedicated to St Giles (St Mabon) although it also takes its name from the Giles family who held the manor in 1350.The present church dates from the 15th century but an earlier church must have existed on the spot. Its most interesting feature is the south door which is unique in the diocese. It has six carved shields upon it and has remained in an almost perfect state of preservation for some 530 years. The wrought iron hinges are just as they were when first fitted to the oak of the door!
The six escutcheons are all the heraldic arms of local families – the Walshes of Llandough, the Umfravilles of Penmark, (1104-1350), the Giles family, the Giles of Gileston of 1262, the Fleming family and the Cradock family. The date of the door itself is probably 1450 -1480. The church is a Grade 2* listed building.